Van Miller Hometown Hero Scholarship recipients announced

Two scholarship awards were recently announced by the Northern Chautauqua Community Foundation.

Selected to receive the Van Miller Hometown Hero Scholarship are Dunkirk High School 2012 graduates Tyler Gajewski and Markel Vega. Each will receive a scholarship of $2,000.

To apply for the scholarship, graduating students of Dunkirk High School must submit, to the guidance department, a written essay about their personal hero and how this hero influenced their lives. A presentation is given to the scholarship committee regarding the applicant’s contributions to the community and their future plans.

The Van Miller Hometown Hero Scholarship Fund was established at the Northern Chautauqua Community Foundation in 2008. Proceeds from the annual Van Miller Golf Tournament and from Van and Gloria Miller have allowed $22,000 to be awarded to Dunkirk High School graduates over the past five years.

The NCCF was incorporated in 1986 as a tax-exempt charitable organization. Since its establishment, the NCCF has distributed more than $8.5 million in the community through its various grant programs. It is an organization inherently committed to enriching the northern Chautauqua community and encouraging local philanthropy. For more information on the NCCF, visit or call 366-4892.