Cattaraugus County announces village elections

LITTLE VALLEY – Cattaraugus County Board of Elections Commissioners Kevin C. Burleson and Sue A. Fries issued a reminder that the last day to register to be eligible to vote in the upcoming village elections is Friday.

March 19 is village election day in Cattaraugus County with voting from noon until 9 p.m. Voter registration applications may be obtained at the board of elections office, 302 Court Street, Little Valley or from the board of elections web site Any post office, county or state agency, city, town or village clerk also has voter registration forms.

Absentee application by mail deadline is March 12, but voters may apply in person through March 18. Delevan voters must apply with the village clerk as that village conducts its own election.

Area races include:

Village of Gowanda

Mayor, two-year term. Vote for one:

Taxpayers Choice – Peter P. Johnson, 108 Jamestown St.

Open Door – Heather M. McKeever, 40 Maple Ave.

Trustee, two-year term. Vote for any two:

Allegiance – Carol A. Sheibley, 95 Torrance Place

Open Door – Paul M. Zimmermann, 230 Jamestown St.

Village of South Dayton

Mayor, two-year term

Democratic- Scott R. Kerr, 311 Pine St.

Republican – Scott R. Kerr, 311 Pine St.

Trustee, two-year term. Vote for any two

Democratic – Lori K. Petersen, 45 Main St.

Democratic – Robert W. Killock, 121 Cherry St.

Republican – Dennis D. Ackley, 413 2nd St.

Republican – Lynn J. Rupp, 182 Main St.

Trustee (vacancy) one-year term. Vote for one

Democratic – Kristen L. Griffin, 27 Cherry St.

Republican- Kristen L. Griffin, 27 Cherry St.

There are also races in Allegany, Cattaraugus, Delevan, Ellicottville, Little Valley and Portville.

New York State Election Law requires that to be eligible to vote in the village elections registrations must be received by the Board of Elections no later than Friday. Applicants must be 18 years of age on or before Village Election Day, a citizen of the U.S. and have lived in the village for at least 30 days before the election.

For more information please contact the board of elections at 938-2401-2403.