The best of the best

Juniors Sam Eckstrom and Wil Bathurst of Olean High School were selected as the co-players of the year in Division 1 boys basketball.

Eckstrom played center and led the league in scoring (19.6) and rebounding (8.6) while Bathurst as a forward averaged 17 points and 6.1 rebounds for the Section 6 Class B champions.

Senior guard Max Portlow (10.8) was the third player from Olean to be named to the first team.

Guards Kyle Radack and Alek Peck of Southwestern along with junior guard Dylan Meyer and sophomore guard John Piper completed the first team.

Jon Fletcher of Fredonia received the Byron Norton Award (the most dedicated player) and Brennan Geiger of Gowanda the sportsmanship award.

The second team is made up of Dominic Saglimben and Ryan Vossler from Allegany-Limestone, Nick Johnston from Fredonia, Nick Conti from Falconer and forward Pat Scholla from Olean.


Sam EckstromOleanJr.

Wil BathurstOleanJr.

Dylan MeyerFredoniaJr.

John PiperFredoniaSoph.

Max PortlowOleanSr.

Kyle RadackSouthwesternSr.

Alek PeckSouthwesternSr.


Pat SchollaOleanSr.

Dominic SaglimbenAl.-LimestoneJr.

Nick ContiFalconerSr.

Ryan VosslerAll.-LimestoneJr.

Nick JohnstonFredoniaJr.


Allegany-Limestone: Caswell Stanton.

Dunkirk: Michael Bess, Alex Crossan, Jacob Lockett, Marquel Ruiz.

Falconer: Mitch Carter.

Fredonia: Jon Fletcher.

Gowanda: Brennan Geiger, Zach Stevens, Chase Williams.

Olean: Nick Schmidt, Luke Hennessy, Evan Ryan.

Southwestern: Peter Trathen.