Westfield elects new mayor

There is a new mayor in Westfield.

Following Tuesday’s spring election results, Michael VandeVelde is the new mayor of the village. He defeated incumbent David Carr, who had been mayor since 2005. VandeVelde won the election with 519 votes. Carr received 227 votes.

The new mayor said the people of Westfield were ready for a change.

“I’m impressed by the village residents. We put a message out there, and they went to the polls and said they want to move Westfield in a new direction,” he said.

VandeVelde, who ran on the Democratic and Westfield First party lines, said he has lived in Westfield his whole life. He served as a village trustee in 2005-06.

“I’ve been here and seen it sit and be stagnate. I have new ideas and hope to move Westfield forward in a direction it has never gone before,” he said.

“My goal is economic gardening. To grow our economy from the inside. I want to work with the Westfield Economic Corp. to grow the economy from the inside out. Economic development is my number one priority.”

In the Westfield village trustee election, incumbent Robert Cochran, running on the Democrat and Westfield First party lines, won re-election, receiving 547 votes. Newly elected trustee Debra S. Puckhaber won the other available spot, receiving 349 votes running on the Democrat and Westfield First party lines. Incumbent Republican and Concord party candidate Chris Jaynes lost re-election with 337 votes. Republican and Concord party candidate Thomas Rackowski was defeated with 223 votes.

Incumbent Village Justice Jeffrey R. Thomas was re-elected with 648 votes.

Comments on this article may be sent to