JCC inducts students into honor fraternity

JAMESTOWN – Jamestown Community College recently inducted students into the Alpha Kappa Beta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national two-year college honor fraternity. Terry Schultz, doctor of optometry and a 1970 graduate of JCC, was the guest speaker for the ceremony. Dr. Schultz received the JCC Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1991. The ceremony was attended by nearly 300 friends and family members of the inductees. A student must achieve at least a 3.50 grade point average to be considered for induction and must have two faculty recommendations.

Local students receiving this honor included Tyler Silagyi of Cherry Creek; Erin Taft of Dayton; Michael Brown, Katherine Carr, Milagro Fred, Jaime Pagan and Olga Salgado of Dunkirk; Colleen Goodway, Justin Pettit and Kayla Snock of Forestville; Katelyn Ludemann, John McKnatt, Stephen Ubaney and Daniel Whitcher of Fredonia; Elizabeth Chentfant and Jaclyn Williams of Mayville; Jessica Stahlman of Portland; Robert Burau of Silver Creek; Olivia Ames and Erin Holley of Sinclairville; Alicia DeLand of South Dayton; Jaime Foster and Karen Fuhrman of Stockton; and Denise Connolly, Chelsea Lapp, Eribel Lopez and Alexandra Villafrank of Westfield.