Department of the Aging holds successful ‘Mayors/Legislators for Meals’ event

CATTARAUGUS COUNTY – March 20 marked the eighth annual Mayors/Legislators for Meals Day sponsored by the Cattaraugus County Department of the Aging in conjunction with Meals on Wheels Association of America. Fifteen elected officials participated throughout the county, helping deliver meals to homebound seniors.

This year’s participating officials included: Legislator Jim Boser, Cattaraugus Town Supervisor James Beach, Ellicottville Mayor Charles Coolidge, Legislator Donna Vickman, Franklinville Mayor Robert Breton, Franklinville Town Supervisor Michael Brisky, Little Valley Mayor/Legislator Norman Marsh, Olean Mayor Linda Witte, Legislator William Aiello, Legislator Linda Edstrom, Legislator Howard VanRensselaer, Salamanca Mayor Carmen Vecchiarella, Legislator Susan Labuhn, Legislator Paula Stockman, and South Dayton Mayor Karen Strickland.

Cathy Mackay, director of the Department of the Aging, stated, “I would like to extend my heartfelt thanks to all of the officials who participated in this year’s event. We are fortunate to have strong support from our elected officials; in fact, some of the officials are part of our dedicated volunteer force and deliver Meals on Wheels on a regular basis.”

The Mayors/Legislators for Meals event is held annually during the month of March. The event is a component of “March for Meals,” a national MOWAA campaign to raise awareness of senior hunger and to encourage action on the part of the local community.

Meals on Wheels of Cattaraugus County is currently seeking additional volunteers to deliver meals to homebound seniors. For more information on how to volunteer, or to report that someone is in need of home delivered meals, call the Cattaraugus County Department of the Aging at 373-8032 or 800- 462-2901.