Area students compete at SkillsUSA Conference

ALFRED Approxim-ately 900 students from Region I Board of Cooperative Education and Services districts encompassing Western New York and the Southern Tier competed in the 24th Annual SkillsUSA Region I Leadership Conference and Skills Olympics March 5 at Alfred State.

The winners of this regional competition will advance to the next level of competition at the On-Center in Syracuse, where all six regions in New York State will meet to attempt to qualify for the national competition in Kansas City in June. A postsecondary SkillsUSA state competition took place on the Wellsville Campus on Saturday.

Competition areas ranged from advertising design to welding. Alfred State faculty, staff and students judged the competitions and competitors from the following schools attended:

Genesee Valley (Batavia); Career and Technical Education Center at Belmont; Lakeshore/ Carrier Educational Center (Angola); CG May Vocational Center (Mt. Morris); Greater Southern Tier (GST) BOCES, Coopers Campus (Painted Post); EMCC (Eastern Monroe Career Center, Fairport); Ellicottville CTE Center; GST BOCES Pauline Bush Campus (Elmira); Harkness Center (Cheektowaga); Hewes Educational Center (Ashville); Ken-Ton Center (Tonawanda); LoGuidice (Fredonia); Niagara (Sanborn); Olean CTE Center; Orleans (Medina); WD Ormsby Center (East Aurora); Potter Career and Technical Center (West Seneca); Wayne-Finger Lakes BOCES (Newark); WE-MO-CO Occupational-Technical Center (Spencerport); and GST BOCES, Wildwood Campus (Hornell).

An awards ceremony honored the following winners:

Action Skills

Jessica Berardicurti, WE-MO-CO, first place

Desiree Kennedy, Lake Shore/Carrier, second place

Patience Boris, Coopers, third place

Advertising Design

Jacob Beadle, EMCC, first place

Kaitlin Preston, GST Wildwood, second place

Colton Wilhem, Coopers, third place

Animal Careers

Dakota Hecht, WD Ormsby, first place

Kristina Pollutro, WD Ormsby, second place

Amelia Stahowiak, WD Ormsby, third place

Auto Body Helper

Austin Cramer, Hewes, first place

Nate Stressing, WD Ormsby, second place

Zach Randolph, WE-MO-CO, third place

Auto Service

Josh Krenzer, GV Batavia, first place

Matt Peryea, WE-MO-CO, second place

Taylor Turcotte, EMCC, third place

Auto Technology

Josh Osberg, Potter, first place

Peter Thompson, WD Ormsby, second place

Randy Tubbs, Potter, third place

Automated Manufacturing Technology

Dan Nugent, Niagara, first place

Nick Hawkins, Niagara, first place

Alexander Burns, Niagara, first place

Ryan Daul, Niagara, second place

Robert Schimshack, Niagara, second place

Jacob Farmer, Niagara, second place

Nicholas Zagmester, Orleans, third place

Alex Volchow, Orleans, third place

Ben Walker, Orleans, third place

Carpenter’s Assistant

Jesse Marsh, GST Bush, first place

David Hare, WE-MO-CO, second place

Justin McMillion, WE-MO-CO, third place


Nick Gibney, WD Ormsby, first place

Roman Baranov, Niagara, second place

Zachary Wodo, Orleans, third place

Collision Repair

Zach Davis, Hewes, first place

Nikolay Lukomskiy, WE-MO-CO, second place

Dominick LeMoine, LoGuidice, third place

Commercial Baking

Ashton Drought, WE-MO-CO, first place

Connor Rand, EMCC, second place

Renee Leggett, Niagara, third place

Computer Maintenance

Davidson Mott, GST Bush, first place

Thomas Nichols, Coopers, second place

Matthew Willig, Coopers, third place


Jason Gerety, Niagara, first place

Jacob Webster, Hewes, second place

Zachary Parlier, Niagara, third place

Cosmetology Jr.

Candace Orton, Orleans, first place

Leiah Mesch, WD Ormsby, second place

Brianna Alaimo, EMCC, third place

Cosmetology Sr.

Veronica Munoz, EMCC, first place

Cori Glendenning, WD Ormsby, second place

Madilyn Forshee, WE-MO-CO, third place

CPR/First Aid

Alyssa Posner, EMCC, first place

Alan Coughlin, Niagara, second place

Ryan Bobzin, EMCC, third place

Criminal Justice

Kiera Smith, Niagara, first place

Autumn Stock, GST Wildwood, second place

Thomas Abbey, Coopers, third place


Kyle Piscitelli, Hewes, first place

Harleigh Moon, Hewes, first place

Jasman Campbell, Hewes, first place

Samantha Carrigan, GST Bush, second place

Alexi Williams GST Bush, second place

Taylor McIntyre, GST Bush, second place

Sarah Lewis, Niagara, third place

Angela Guerra, Niagara, third place

Miranda Manning, Niagara, third place

Culinary Arts

Kimberly Ortiz, Niagara, first place

Chelsea Babcock, LoGuidice, second place

Blaise Russotti, EMCC, third place

Custom Painting & Graphics

Rebecca Bell, Potter, first place

Kenten Smith, Ellicottville, second place

Sue Kohn, Ken-Ton, third place

Diesel Mechanics

Austin Halligan, WD Ormsby, first place

Kevin DeMaison, Orleans, second place

Garrett Van Lieshout, Orleans, third place

Early Childhood

Haley Grace, Ellicottville, first place

Kathryn Vartan, EMCC, second place

Alissa Connolly, Orleans, third place

Electrical Construction & Wiring

Jon Romani, Potter, first place

Kaid Green, Wayne, second place

Jacob Pudlewski, Harkness, third place

Electronics Technology

Seth Heath, Orleans, first place

Corey Clow, WE-MO-CO, second place

Nick McMullen, GV Batavia, third place

Employment Application

Kristin O’Grady, WE-MO-CO, first place

Extemporaneous Speech

Rob Williams, WE-MO-CO, first place

Victoria Dudkowski, Orleans, second place

Michelle Anderson, Potter, third place

Food Prep Assistant

Tiffany Clark, Niagara, first place

Mahkya Searles, Coopers, second place

Jennifer Basch, Wayne, third place

Health Knowledge Bowl

Orleans, first place

Olean, second place

WE-MO-CO, third place

Job Demo A

Josh Baptiste, Niagara, first place

Rebecca Volmy, Niagara, second place

Garrett LaValley, Wayne, third place

Job Demo Open

Anna Maria Grapevine, Coopers, first place

Katelyn Davies, LoGuidice, second place

David Banister, WE-MO-CO, third place

Job Interview

Paige Casey, EMCC, first place

Brittany Manicki, Orleans, second place

Kayla Matthews, EMCC, third place

Nail Tech

Angelina Maine, Olean, first place

Brooke Weitzel, Model, first place

Caly Vargas, WE-MO-CO, second place

Monique McFarland, Model, second place

Rebekah Miller, GV Batavia, third place

Kristie Norton, Model, third place


Zachary Dunton, EMCC, first place

Allison Pratt, GST Wildwood, second place

Aubrey Loguasto, GST Wildwood, third place

Precision Heavy Equipment

Kevin Schwartz, GST Wildwood, first place

Craig Lewis, GST Wildwood, second place

Chris La Fountain, WE-MO-CO, third place

Prepared Speech

Cassidy Rohde, Orleans, first place

Sydney Chester, GV Batavia, second place

Krystina Brown, WE-MO-CO, third place

Quiz Bowl

GST Bush, first place

Niagara, second place

WE-MO-CO, third place

Related Technical Math

Ryan Niedermeier, Potter, first place

Wyatt Wolf, Niagara, second place

Morgan Valentine, Orleans, third place

Restaurant Services

Jared Fish, GST Bush, first place

Felicia Gane, Niagara, second place

Jennifer Seeman, WE-MO-CO, third place

Small Engines

Joshua Booth, GST Wildwood, first place

Kasey Wetmore, GST Wildwood, second place

Edward Buchanan, Coopers, third place

T-Shirt Design

Anyssa Roy, Coopers, first place

Veronique Hurlbutt, WE-MO-CO, second place

Dan Hogan, Coopers, third place

Technical Drafting

Brandon Bryniarski, Ellicottville, first place

Taylor Miller, Ellicottville, second place

Devin Vancleef, Finger Lakes, third place

TV/Video Production

Madeline Bancroft, GST Wildwood, first place

Brock Dowdle, GST Wildwood, first place

Brandon Wilson, GST Bush, second place

Tobias Quinn, GST Bush, second place

Andrea Smith, WE-MO-CO, third place

Jeff Martin, WE-MO-CO, third place


Sean Burke, LoGuidice, first place

Michael Robins, Niagara, second place

Miriah Guady, GV Batavia, third place