Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee holds 13th annual Workers’ Memorial Day

FREWSBURG – The Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee will hold a Workers’ Memorial Day on May 4 at 11 a.m. at the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Site at Erlandson Overview Park on Oak Hill Road in Frewsburg.

Workers’ Memorial Day has been observed in Chautauqua County by the Workers’ Memorial Committee for the last 13 years and it is a day of remembering all of the men and women from Chautauqua County who have been injured or killed on the job.

The event is open to the public and refreshments will be served. Scheduled speakers include Arthur C. Wheaton, Director of Western NY Labor and Environmental Programs at Cornell University ILR School; State Senator Catharine Young, State Assemblyman Andrew Goodell, and Jacqueline Chiarot a representative from Congressman Tom Reed’s Office.

The Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Site is made possible by the cooperation of Chautauqua County Government, the Chautauqua County Parks Commission, local labor organizations, and by donations from supporters.

“I encourage residents to join us on May 4th as we remember our fellow workers and loved ones who have lost their lives while working,” said Chautauqua County Executive Greg Edwards.

Members of the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee are Co-Chairman Greg Edwards, County Executive; Co-Chairman Jack Rudy, President of the Jamestown Central Labor Council; Co-Chairman Doug Stock, President of Dunkirk Central Labor Council; Secretary and Treasurer Robert Dando Jr., National Conference of Firemen and Oilers SEIU 32BJ; Paul Fardink, Friend of Labor Management; Andrea Figueroa, Vice President of New York State United Teachers Jamestown Teachers Association; James Kurtz, Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA) Local 903/3; Dave Painter, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local 106; Mike Piazza, United Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America Local 338; William Pienta, Director of United Steelworkers District 4; William Servis, Pipefitter and Sprinkler Local 699; Steve Skidmore, CSEA Local 807/6300; George Spitale, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees Local 418; James Smith, CSEA Local 903/3; and Dave Wilkinson, IBEW Local 106.

For more information contact Bob Dando at 672-2939 or .