For the Record


Gowanda Recreation

signup set for July 3

The Village of Gowanda will hold pre-registration at St. John Park on Wednesday, July 3 from 5:30 to 7 p.m. for their six-week summer program. Children must be between the ages of 6-14 in order to attend.

There is no cost for the program except for the optional field trips. Parents unable to attend the registration can sign up on the first day of the program that begins on Monday, July 8 at 9:30 a.m.

Call Recreation Director Mark Benton at 532-4053 for more information.

Adult Golf

Pinehurst Golf Course

American Legion Post 434 Wednesday Evening Men’s League – Low gross: Pat Swanson 34, Ryan Swanson 37, Jeff Thomas 41, Jon Esperson 41, Adam Morello 41. Low net: Pat Swanson 30, Dave Daniels 32, Thomas 33, Mike Sheehan 34, Esperson 35, Nate Thompson 34 and Jack Kujawa 35.

Closest to the pin on the par 3: Jeff Thomas (No. 7). Fewest putts: Nate Thompson and Bob Remington with 11. Skins were won by Thompson, Pat Swanson and Scott Jagoda. Most team points: Jon Esperson and George Petrella 14, Nick Speziale and Mike Sheehan 13.

Wednesday Travel League

Ed Tofil shot a 38-39-77 under extremely wet conditions at Beechwood Golf Course in Fairview, Pa. It was Tofil’s 25th career tour victory and league-leading fifth of this season. Jeff Kubera was the B-Flight winner on a tiebreaker over Mick Dunning while Jack Griswold was the C-Flight winner. League Commissioner Bruce Chrabasz was the winner of the Commissioner’s Award.

Untied birdies were recorded by: A Flight: Tofil (Nos. 1 and 5), Wayne Ormsby (No. 2), Bill Merryweather (No. 4) and John Bongiovanni (No. 10); B Flight: Butch Mackowiak (Nos. 2 and 4), Mike Willoughby (No. 10), Bob Roesler (No. 12), Dunning (No. 13), Kubera (No. 14) and John Waterman (No. 16); C Flight: Joe Bifaro (No. 1), Jim Hofer (Nos. 5 and 9), Griswold (No. 6) and Gary Haase (Nos. 8 and 17).

Closest to the pin were Carlos Troche(No.2), Dave Franklin(No.4), Bongiovanni(No.10-only 7 inches from the hole), and Ken Kaus (No. 15). Top point winners were Bongiovanni (39), Mackowiak (31) and Merryweather, Ormsby, and Willoughby (26 each). Season points leaders: 1) Franklin (111), 2) Doug Keith and Dunning (106 each), 4) Joe Michalski (102), 5) Tofil (101).

Next week the league will play Chautauqua Golf Club’s Lake Course. Tee-off is at 9 a.m. Golfers must be signed up with Butch Mackowiak (679-4027) by Monday.