Brooks Memorial Hospital honors 2012 Employee of the Year

For staff at Brooks Memorial Hospital, it was an opportunity to share accomplishments and pride in their profession while honoring an outstanding colleague during the 26th annual Employee Recognition Banquet. Jarrod Johnson, MBA, FACHE, Brooks’ Chief Operating Officer (COO), awarded Employee of the Year honors to Nuclear Medicine Technologist Greg Morgan.

Morgan had previously been named Employee of the Month at the hospital for March. “Positive attitude, excellent job knowledge, compassionate, self-motivated, great with patients – all these and many more adjectives” were used by Mr. Johnson to describe the 2012 Employee of the Year. “He is truly a well-rounded individual, a great employee and deserving of this award.”

Morgan, a native of Buffalo, is a former U.S. Marine. He attended Erie Community College and graduated from the Nuclear Medicine Program at the University of Buffalo. He joined the Brooks Memorial Hospital family in the Nuclear Imaging Department following graduation in 2009.

The annual employee recognition banquet was held at the Kosciuszko Club in Dunkirk, with the invocation given by Caroline Spoth, BA, RRT, Director of Cardiopulmonary Services at Brooks Memorial Hospital. The presentation of awards was led by A. Jack Davis, M. Div., SPHR, Chief Human Resource Officer, Lake Erie Regional Health System of New York.

During the event, recognition was given to Brooks Memorial Hospital employees who retired in the past 12 months, as well as the Employees of the Month over the past year. Employees were also recognized for perfect attendance, led by Frank Schneider, Safety/Security Services Manager and Safety Officer, for logging in 25 years with no sick days. In addition, staff members were recognized for milestone service anniversaries from five to 45 years in five year increments. Among them was Sandra Powell, Ambulatory Surgery, for 45 years of service. Francine Davis, Dialysis Unit; Sonja Galofaro, Med/Surg; Sue Gornikiewicz, Patient Accounts; and Shirly Heath, Laboratory; were each recognized for 40 years of service.

Others honored for their years of hospital service included: 35 years – Pamela Barter; Brenda Chmura; Patricia Ferry; Deborah Giordano and Mary Jane Meadows and, for 30 years – Alice Hunt; Kathleen Jackman; Lisa Kozlowski; Nancy Napieralski and Kathryn Pucciarelli. For 25 years, honorees were Carol Ames; Kimberly Bishop; Marjorie Ebert; Doreen Gilbert; Susan Hoffman; Peggy Meadows; Shari Salemi; Bonnie Swanson and Marlene Zacharias.

Recognized for 20 years of service were Susan Cave, Jill Crane, Ellen Dempsey, Lidia Diaz-Bentham, Dianna Holtz, Mary Kelley and Patricia Mleczko. And, at 15 years the designees were Desiree Coon, Robert Davis and Thomas Sansone.

Honorees at the 10-year mark were Kris Goodwin, Christina Goss, Kenneth Long, Gail Masiker, Dennis Mulkin, Penelope Schneider Smith, Sandra Sunzeri, Margaret Swartz, Cynthia Wlodarek and Susan Worczak.

Included in the five-year category were Daniel Aldrich, Mary Jo Bauer, Autumn Bigelow, Kathleen Bukoskey, Katie Conti, Angel Correa, Sara Couchman, Rae Crandall, Martha Diluca, Heather Gustafson, Lisa Karalus, John Lechanski, Theresa Markey, Heather Mazurek, Dawn Meacham, Alice Przybycien and Raul Rosado.

Brooks Memorial Hospital is an affiliate of LERHSNY.