Diamond dandies

The Fredonia Lady Hillbillies backed up their CCAA Division 1 high school softball title with a clean sweep of the league’s awards earlier this month.

Junior Alicia Deering was named Player of the Year, sophomore hurler Baylee Tarnowski was named Pitcher of the Year and Joe Pucciarelli earned Coach of the Year honors.

The Lady Hillbillies won their first division title since 2009 this season before being eliminated by Falconer in the Section 6 Class B-2 semifinals.

Bre Dahn and Maddie Crandall joined Deering and Tarnowski in earning First Team honors.

Dunkirk landed three Lady Marauders on the First Team – seniors Joyce Bomasuto, Khee Nance and Kelsey Drummond.

Other players who earned First Team honors included: Laura O’Keefe of Allegany-Limestone, Falconer’s Shannon Gunnell and Brianna McFall, Southwestern’s Shelby Lunz, Olean’s Monica Moses and Maddy Stavish, Gowanda’s Jessica Sowa and Jamestown’s Hannah Pollino.

Dunkirk’s Kati Hanlon and Lacey Clark were named to the Second Team along with Gowanda’s Alexa Farner.

Hanlon, Clark and Farner join the following on the Second Team: Falconer’s Shannon McFall and Jenna Fellows, Jamestown’s Jessica Pace and McKenzie Martin, Southwestern’s Jenna Yuchnitz, Summer Borysoff and Sydney Burk, Olean’s Rachel Painter and Sarah Retchless, and Allegany -Limestone’s Kaelyn Shea and Brandie Fuller.

Cassie Essek and McKenna Leid took Honorable Mention honors for Fredonia while Dunkirk’s Nicole Balzer and Lilly Rollins were similarly recognized.

Gowanda’s Markie John and Sydney Gominiak were also added to the Honorable Mention list.

Other Honorable Mentions included: Falconer’s Abby Courtney and Katie Hines, Olean’s Kayla Henning, Ally Rakus and Eliza Weatherby, Allegany-Limestone’s Rachel Smith and Allison Forness, Southwestern’s Jenna Rauh and Britta Johnson, and Jamestown’s Kaleisha Mosley.

Dunkirk’s Kelsey Drummond, Fredonia’s Nicole Szymczak and Gowanda’s Karen Snow earned individual sportsmanship awards as Southwestern took team sportsmanship honors.

Other individual sportsmanship winners included Falconer’s Allison Munella, Olean’s Emilee Russell, Southwestern’s Emma Blasius and Jamestown’s Chelsea Jackson.