Division 3’s best

Chautauqua Lake junior third baseman Ashley Moulton was named the CCAA Division 3 high school softball Player of the Year by the league’s coaches earlier this month while Forestville’s Ryanne Dugan and Brianne Hazelton took Pitcher of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

Moulton led a Lady Thunderbird squad that lost to Frewsburg in the Section 6 Class C semifinals. Lauren Cummings and Jessie Herrington join Moulton among Chautauqua Lake players to be named First Team All-Stars.

Dugan was the ace for the league champion Lady Hornets as she ran up a 41-inning scoreless streak at one point this season. With her in the circle, Forestville earned the top seed in the Class D playoffs before being losing to Pine Valley in the final. Teammates Cherish Pope and Precious Kaczor joined Dugan on the First Team.

The rest of the First Team consisted of Franklinville’s Ally Haskell, Linnea Pollock and Ally Ciesla, Maple Grove’s Brianne Davis and Lauren Nickerson, Pine Valley’s Alex Bentham, and Westfield’s Hillary Nelson and Rachel Allen.

Maple Grove paced the Second Team All-Star selections with three players – Mackenzie Ellis, Taylor Satalino and Jordan Ahlstrom – named to the list.

Forestville (Emily Dillenburg and Alisha Szumigala), Panama (Kirsten Green and Jessica Leonard), Westfield (Sarah Burgoon and Kathryn Catalano), Chautauqua Lake (Hannah Rauh and Luci Sena), and Pine Valley (Aaren Waterman and Cassandra Tingue) had two players each. Franklinville’s Meghan McKune rounded out the list.

Westfield’s Savannah Rowen, Carson Hauser and Laura Tofil put the Lady Wolverines atop the Honorable Mention list with three players. The rest of the Honorable Mentions were Chautauqua Lake’s Courtney Hewes and Jade Walsh, Forestville’s Emily Markham and Ashley VanBuskirk, Franklinville’s Ashley Leederman and Jill Phillips, Maple Grove’s Alex Novotny and Morgan Lehman, Panama’s Brittany Lenart and Carly Abbate, and Pine Valley’s Nichole Rinehart and Amber Riggs.

Chautauqua Lake earned the Team Sportsmanship Award as individual honors went to Pine Valley’s Aleah Fancher, Maple Grove’s Taylor Whalen, Rauh, McKune, Dugan, Westfield’s Ariel Schuster and Panama’s Hanna King.