For the Record

Youth Baseball

District 38 Little League All-Stars

Fredonia 10, Hanover 0 – Trey Swartz, Jamison Horch and Owen Nicosia (double) all had two hits for Fredonia to back winning pitcher Derrick Walters, who struck out eight.

Stephen Romanik played well defensively at catcher for Hanover while Nick Stalker suffered the loss on the hill.


Wright League

American Legion 9, Moose 5 – Mike Dispense (home run, triple), Tyler Cain (home run, single), Jake Skinner, Haeden Walters and Gabe Schrader led the American Legion offense in a come-from-behind win over Moose. Derrick Walters and Cain combined to pick up the win on the mound.

For the Moose, Tyler Winchell and Nate Shuart shared pitching duties while Mike Berg and Winchell each had a pair of hits at the plate. Also collecting hits for the Moose were Joey VanDette and Brayden Myers.

Youth Softball

Fredonia Little League

Nathan George Foundation 3, Blasdell Pizza 2 – Top hitters for Nathan George Foundation were Sydney Anderson, Madison Marsh and Rebecca Piede. Erin Mansfield and Eva Storm shared pitching duties.

Blasdell Pizza was led offensively by Shelby Nowak with three hits while Meghan Johnson, Emerson Bramer and Maria Maytum all went 2 for 2. Good defense was played by Amarieah Ardillo and Lila Cameron.

Youth Hockey

Dippin Dots Spring

House League

(Division 6)

Team 604 7, Team 605 4 – Joshua Crane and Justin Price led Team 604 with three goals and one assist each while Nick Walter chipped in a goal and an assist. Alex Brown, Mike Szalkowski and Matt Johnson each contributed with an assist in the win while Andrea Colan was between the pipes for the victory.

Team 604 5, Team 603 2 – Mike Szalkowski led Team 604 with a goal and two assists while Matt Johnson had a goal and an assist in the win.

Also for Team 604, Joshua Crane and Alex Brown each contributed a goal, Justin Price chipped in three assists and Andrea Colan picked up the win in goal.

Adult Golf

Country Meadows

Golf Course

Wednesday Travel League – Tony Nicosia shot the low round of 76 at Country Meadows Golf Course in Venango, Pa., while Joe Michalski and Ed Tofil tied for second after each shot a 79.

Gary Richardson had the low score on the front nine with 37 while Nicosia was low on the back nine with a 38. Dave Criscione and Joe Bifaro won the B and C Flights, respectively.

Winner of the Commissioner’s Award was Lee Titus.

Untied birdies were recorded by: A Flight – Richardson (No. 2), John Bongiovanni (No. 10), Doug Grace (No. 15) and Nicosia (No. 18); B Flight – Mike Willoughby (No. 7), Len Leszkowicz (Nos. 8 & 11), Ken Kaus (No. 13) and Criscione (No. 15); C Flight – Bob Roesler (Nos. 1 & 5), Bifaro (No. 7), Jim Ellman Sr. (No. 10), Doug Keith (No. 11) and John Waterman (No. 13).

Closest to the pin were: Titus (Nos. 2 & 8), Leszkowicz (No. 11) and Kerry Murphy (No. 17). Top point winners were: Leszkowicz (50), Titus (30) and Richardson (30). Season points leaders: Bongiovanni (156), Richardson (140), Dave Franklin (131), Keith (116), Tofil (110).

Next week, the league will play Hillview Golf Course. There will be an 8 a.m. shotgun start and all golfers are asked to be at the course by 7:30. At this time all foursomes have been filled.


Country Club

Thursday Night Men’s Golf League – Low scores: Scott Johnson 34, Don Meder 38, Mike Schwertfager 38, Ernie Kuzdale 39, Ron Mason 39, Paul Edson 40, Rob Kahle 40, Peter Wintersteen 40. Low net: Kuzdale 28. Closest to the pin: Greg Wise (No. 6). Skins: Wintersteen (No. 2, birdie), Bill Baker (No. 6, birdie).

Pinehurst Golf Course

Brocton American Legion Post 434 Wednesday Evening Men’s League – Low gross: Scott Jagoda 36, Greg Gollnitz 38, Dave Willebrandt 39, Carter Stetson 40, Andy Deakin 40, Pat Swanson 40, Kris Kane 40 and Jon Esperson 40. Low net: Kane 28, Stetson 30, Jagoda 31, Jeff Gerould 31, Mike Manzella 31, Esperson 32, Deakin 32 and Dave Meadows 32.

Closest to the pin on the par 3’s: Ralph Archer (No. 4), Deakin (No. 7). Closest to the 150 yard marker on No. 2 with their first shot was Dave Meadows. One skin was won by Jared Ehmke on No. 4.

Most team points won went to Bob Kaus and Dave Travis with 13 while teams of Ehmke and Kane and Tim Wagner and Carter Stetson each earned 12. Most team points for the season currently goes to the team of Willebrandt and Swanson with 101.5



Diving Camp

Fredonia State will conduct a springboard diving camp July 8-12 at the Steele Hall Natatorium. All interested divers aged 6-18 will be accepted.

The camp will emphasize proper entries into the water, approaches, somersaults and twists. A trampoline with spotting belt and dryboard pit are among the apparatus used by the participants.

Divers can attend in half-day or full-day sessions. For more information, contact John Crawford at or 716-640-6110.

Buffalo 716ers Announce Dunkirk Summer League

The Buffalo 716ers have announced a new basketball league open to teams and players in Dunkirk. The league will play on Sunday nights beginning July 7 at Dunkirk High School. The league includes live stats, live video, photos, college officials and more. To register as a free agent or a team, visit The league fee is $250 per team while players can register for $25. The league will run through Sept. 1.

The Buffalo 716ers are an expansion professional basketball team that will compete in the Independent Basketball Association beginning in the spring of 2014. They will also compete in the NBA-sanctioned Summer Pro League in Los Angeles July 20-29. The owner/head coach is Tawan Slaughter, a Buffalo native who is committed to bringing professional basketball back to the city.

Old First Night Run/Walk/Swim

at Chautauqua Institution

The Chautauqua Sports Club at Chautauqua Institution will hold the Old First Night Run/Walk/Swim at the complex Saturday, August 3 at 9 a.m. A $25 donation serves as the entry fee and includes a T-shirt as well as age group awards in 10-year brackets. All proceeds benefit the Chautauqua Fund and admission to Chautauqua Institution is free for the race. For more information, call (716) 357-6281 or email Participants can also register online at

Gowanda Softball

Tourney set for today

The 17th Annual Gowanda Men’s Slow Pitch Softball Tournament is set for today.

The double-elimination format will begin at 11 a.m., and there is still an opening for one more team. The entry fee is $75. Call Mark Benton at 532-4053 or email if interested in registering a team.

Joy Golf Tournament

Moved to Gowanda CC

The Russell J. Joy Memorial Golf Tournament to benefit TLC Health Network has switched locations and will be played at Gowanda Country Club, 2623 Brown Street, Collins on Wednesday, August 28. Registration is set for 11 a.m. and tee-off is set for noon.

A detailed brochure is coming soon.