New board, voting members elected at NCCF annual meeting

The Northern Chautauqua Community Founda-tion’s voting members recently elected new board and voting members. NCCF board members serve five-year terms and voting members three-year terms. NCCF committees are comprised of community volunteers.

Gerald Hall and Monica White were re-elected to the board of directors. NCCF welcomes newly elected board members, Helen Baran, Kathy Kaus, Ryan Mourer and Susan L. Wells.

Baran is the owner and operator of Baran Vine-yards, a 180-acre grape farm in Westfield. Her community involvement is extensive and includes Westfield Memorial Hospital, West-field-Mayville Rotary Club and the new Grape Discovery Center. Past associations include the NYS Rural Health Council and the Chautauqua County Health Network. Baran served three terms as a voting member.

As vice president, senior retail loan officer, for Cattaraugus County Bank, Kaus has the leadership skills needed to serve on the board of directors. Her involvement in the community includes board memberships with the United Way of Northern Chautau-qua County and Chautau-qua Home Rehabilitation and Improvement Corpora-tion. She is a past president of the Dunkirk Rotary Club. Kaus has served on the Grants Committee since 2005. She resides in Silver Creek.

Mourer is a real estate developer committed to making the community a better place. His business focuses on rehabilitating condemned and less than desirable properties in the community. Mourer also serves as code enforcement officer for the town of Dunkirk and the village of Brocton.

He and his wife, Jaime, live in Fredonia with sons Riley and Shane.

Wells is a graduate of Fredonia High School and holds both an MBA and a JD. Wells had lived and worked outside her hometown in big and mid-sized cities; she returned home for family and for the nature of this area’s lifestyle. Her family was a part of the initial effort that formed the NCCF in 1986. Wells previously served on the board of directors from 1995 to 1999. She resides in Dunkirk.

Current voting members Elizabeth Cardona, Jill Casey, Jody Briggs-Garcia, Joshua Liddell, David Ortolano, Frank Pagano, James O. Rawcliffe, Mar-garet Tiffany, Ronald Sellers, Dan Siracuse and Elizabeth Tytka were re-elected for another term. Newly elected voting members include Andrew Braut-igam, Michael Puglisi, David Dengler, Aaron Resnick, Patricia DiPalma, Rachel Foley and Jared Johnson.

The NCCF is one of nearly 700 community foundations in the United States today. Founded in 1986, the NCCF is dedicated to improving the community through the promotion of local philanthropy, strategic grantmaking and community leadership.

Served by a small staff and governed by an all-volunteer board of directors, the organization has distributed over $9.1 million in the form of grants and scholarships within the community.

Truly community in nature, the NCCF is an organization created by and for the people of northern Chautauqua County. For more information, visit NCCF’S Annual Report to the Community is available to view online at or call 366-4892 to obtain a hard copy.