Perry and Oag will lead Cassadaga Valley Board of Education

SINCLAIRVILLE – S. Carl Perry and Jeanne Oag were elected president and vice president respectively of the Cassadaga Valley Board of Education at its recent organizational meeting.

District Clerk Kristen Aldinger presided over the meeting – taking roll call and declaring quorum, taking the motion to approve the agenda, swearing in newly elected board member Daniel Pavlock and re-elected member Jeanne Oag, and then handling the election of the president and vice-president.

Perry and Oag ran without opposition and were unanimously elected.

The meeting was then turned over to Perry. He officially welcomed new board member Daniel Pavlock and congratulated Oag upon her re-election. He thanked the entire board for electing him.

He said, “It’s a privilege to work with this board. I want to thank David (Christy, former board president) for his service. He is an excellent leader.”

After the meeting Christy commented on no longer being board president.

He said, “I have been president for five years and Carl (Perry) has been vice-president for five years. It’s time for Carl to be president and Jeanne, who has served on the board for five years, to be vice-president.”

Organizational appointments, designations and authorizations were handled quickly and without discussion.

Officers appointed were: District Clerk, Kristen Aldinger; District Treasurer, Debra McAvoy; Assistant Treasurer, Marci Hadley; Tax collectors, Shanda Clark and Hadley; Extracurricular Fund Treasurer (stipend $500) Peggy Heath and Claims Auditor (stipend $4,300) Andrea Gierlinger.

Other appointments were: School Attorney, Jeffrey Swiatek from the law firm of Hodgson Russ LLP; School Attorney, Dana A Lundberg from the law firm of Lundberg Law Offices; School Physician, Robert Berke, M.D.; Extracurricular Fund Faculty Advisor, Tara DiDomenico; Extracurric-ular fund Auditor, Andrea Gierlinger; Attendance Officer grades 6-12, Martha Boyland; Attendance Officer K-5, Barbara Crowell; Purchasing Agent, Scott Smith; Hearing Officer for discrimination/sexual harassment complaints, Smith; State Occupational Safety and Health Officer, Thomas Zanghi; Census Enumerator (stipend $500), Nicole Warsitz; Chairperson for both Committee on Special Education and Committee on Preschool Special Education, Joshua Gilevski; Title Grant Coordinators, John Kwietniewski and Gilevski; Chief Information Officer, Richard Siegel; and Dignity Act co-coordinators, Siegel and Heather Nocero.

Regular board meeting dates were set for the following Mondays : Aug. 12, Sept. 9, Oct. 21, Nov. 18, and Dec. 9 in 2013 and Jan. 12, Feb. 10, March 10, April 7, May 12, and June 9 in 2014. The budget vote and election for board of education is scheduled for May 20, 2014 from 2-8 p.m. in the middle/high school.

The official bank depository is Community Bank in Jamestown. Official newspapers are the Post-Journal in Jamestown and the OBSERVER in Dunkirk.

Superintendent Smith was authorized: (1) to certify payrolls, approve attendance at conferences, conventions, workshops etc. for teaching staff, non-teaching staff, administrators and/or confidential personnel, (2) to apply for federal funds and/or title programs to which the district is entitled by federal law, (3) to approve budget transfers up to a limit of $25,000, and (4) to temporarily employ substitutes for teaching and non-teaching help as needed on an hourly basis.

The treasurer and assistant treasurer (McAvoy and Hadley) were authorized to sign checks. The treasurer was also authorized to invest district funds in any financial institution in New York State.

The board of education president (Perry) was given the power to authorize the issuance of and to sell revenue anticipation notes of the district in anticipation of the collection of revenues to be received as state aid by the district from the State of New York during the fiscal year beginning on July 1.

Petty cash funds were established: administration office; $200, tax collector, $75; high school lunch, $100; and Sinclairville Elementary lunch $30.

Mileage reimbursement is to match the IRS guidelines. The charge for photocopies of documents under the Freedom of Information Law was set a 25 cents per page.

Substitute rates for the coming school year were set. Certified teachers will be paid $80 per day for subbing 1 to 19 days, $90 per day for 20-39 days and $95 per day for 40 or more days. Certified teachers subbing 10 days in the same assignment will be paid $100 per day. Uncertified substitutes will be paid $69 per day for subbing 1 to 19 days and $79 per day for subbing 20 or more school days. A school nurse (non-RN) will receive $65 per day while an RN will receive $80 per day.

Rates for bus drivers, cafeteria, clerical, cleaner, monitor, and teacher aide were set for entry rate, experienced (180 days) and in the case of bus drivers experienced (360 days).

Meal prices did not change from last year. Lunch rates are $1.70 for elementary students, $1.85 for high school (6-12) and $3.50 for adults. Breakfast price for all students is $1 while adults will pay $2.11.

Comments on this article may be directed to