BCS announces awards and honors

BROCTON – Brocton’s salutatorian for the Class of 2013 is Ryan Nyweide. Nyweide is the son of Chris and Molly Nyweide of Brocton. Nyweide’s academic achievements include being presented with the French Award, the Algebra Award, the Geometry Award, the Algebra II/Trig Award and the RIT Computing Award. Nyweide is also very involved in the music programs at Brocton Central School. He has been a member of the band, played in the Pit Band for the drama clubs’ school musical presentations and played in the PEP band for the past four years.

Nyweide will be attending the University of Buffalo in the fall to study physics. He has been awarded the Scholarship for Academic Excellence which will give him $1,500 per year for four years. Nyweide graduated ranked second in his class with an overall GPA of 96.063.

The valedictorian of the Class of 2013 is Ryan Mancuso. Mancuso is the son of Alan and Jodi Mancuso of Brocton. Mancuso has been a member of the National Honor Society where he has held the position of president. Mancuso is on the board of directors for the Brocton Rotary Interact Club where he has spent countless hours volunteering for various community service projects.

Mancuso has been a writer for the Brocton Review School Newspaper, a member of the Envirothon Team, the golf team, ski club, and the volleyball team. Mancuso also received the Bausch & Lomb Science Award, was named to JCC’s part-time students’ Dean’s List and was voted to be JCC’s Student of the Year.

Mancuso will be attending the University of Buffalo to major in biology and dentistry. He was awarded the Scholarship for Academic Excellence and will receive $500 per year for four years. He graduated ranked number one in his class with an overall GPA of 97.672.

Other Brocton senior awards and scholarships include the following: Chelsey Allen (BCS Alumni Assn. Scholarship, BCS Anniversary Scholarship, the Dru Mendrick Memorial Scholarship, and the JBC Scholarship of Excellence); Taylor Appel (Gordon/Florence Thom Memorial Award, Dan Dix Scholarship); Patrick Bennett (Eta Tau Scholarship, NYS Dept. of Corrections/Police Benevolent Assn., Westfield/Mayville Rotary Club Scholarship, June Persons Memorial Scholarship); Alex Deakin (Brocton Teachers’ Assn. Scholarship); Nicole Dettelis (Women of the Moose Scholarship); Jeremy Eckstrom (Jess Willebrandt Memorial Scholarship, Fredonia State Dean’s Scholar Award); Dan Ferguson (Dru Mendrick Memorial Scholarship); Sarah Lang (Dan Dix Memorial Scholarship); Scot Laurie (John D. Rondenell Memorial Scholarship, Bill Westin Senior Athletic Scholarship); Ryan Mancuso (BCS Alumni Assn. Scholarship, BTA Assn. Scholarship, Ellsworth Emmett Memorial Science Scholarship, Francis/Frances Geiben Memorial Scholarship, Ruth Barker Winch Scholarship, NYS Scholarship for Academic Excellence, Valedictorian Award, Westfield/Mayville Rotary Club Scholarship); Kelly Miller (American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship, Douglas Richardson Memorial Scholarship); Derrick Montgomery (American Legion Auxiliary Award); Robert “Andy” Morello (Community PTSA Scholarship); John Nickerson (American Legion Veteran’s Scholarship, BCS Alumni Assn. Scholarship, Bob Miller Memorial Scholarship, District Union Local One United Food and Commercial Workers, Westfield/Mayville Rotary Club Scholarship, Alfred State Distinguished Scholars Presidential Scholarship, Bob Frame Memorial Scholarship); Ryan Nyweide (Francis/Frances Geiben Memorial Scholarship, Roy/Gladys Hopper Memorial Scholarship, Salutatorian Award, NYS Scholarship for Academic Excellence); Jordan Patterson (Brocton Fire Company Scholarship, Ken Blodgett Criminal Justice Scholarship, Nathan George Memorial Scholarship); Kayde Putcher (American Legion Woleben, LaVoice and Delcamp Scholarship, American Red Cross High School Challenge Scholarship, Anthony and Sarah Cappellino Memorial Scholarship, Brocton First Aid Squad Scholarship, Eta Tau Scholarship. Jesse Willebrandt Memorial Scholarship. Nathan George Memorial Scholarship, Ruth Barker Winch Scholarship, Canisius College Dean’s Academic Scholarship); Courtney Ransom (BCS Alumni Association Scholarship, Brocton Fire Company, Bob Miller Memorial Scholarship, Fairpoint Communications Scholarship, Thomas K. Sciarrino Memorial Scholarship, BCS BEAR’s Scholarship, Chautauqua County Business Teachers’ Assn., Fredonia State Alumni Association); Alec Travis-Daugherty (John D. Rondenell Memorial Scholarship); Alison Wahl (Community PTSA Scholarship, John Philip Sousa Award); Marcy West (Future Farmer’s Alumni Assn. Scholarship, National School Choral Award).