Round-up of candidates running for Tuesday’s primary elections

OBSERVER Staff Report

Tuesday is Primary Day in New York state. Eligible voters will have the chance to select candidates for November’s full election. The following list includes area candidates are running in Chautauqua, Cattaraugus and Erie counties.




Residents in Cattaraugus County will vote on one race county wide. Residents will be voting on District Attorney. On the republican line, Lori P. Rieman and Mark S. Williams are running. On the green line, there is an opportunity to ballot.


In the town of Leon, residents will be voting for the offices of supervisor and clerk. For supervisor Erika M. Zollinger and Cheryl J. Ellis are running on the Republican line. For town clerk, Camilla B. Lulas and Carla S. Hartman are running on the Democratic line.


In the town of Perrysburg, residents will be voting on town supervisor and councilman. For supervisor, Dennis K. Parker and incumbent Dennis C. Stopen will be running on the Republican line. For council, incumbents Richard M. Gabel and Lynn W. Varney are being challenged by Constance M. Johnson on the Republican lines. Voters will choose two candidates for town council. Chautauqua County


Christopher C. Cannon, Clinton H. Nagel and Lawrence J. Ball are running for Arkwright town council as candidates of the Republican Party. Independence Party candidates are Clinton H. Nagel and Lawrence J. Ball. There is also an opportunity for a write-in candidate to ballot and two open seats on the town council.


Republican Party candidates Mark A. Risley and Brian T. Anderson are running for highway superintendent.


Ronald L. Delcamp and Charles E. Kelley Jr. are Independence Party candidates for highway superintendent.


Jeffrey A. Shevlin Jr. and Mark A. Cunningham, both Conservative, Republican and Independence Party members, are running for town justice. Michael H. Myers is a third candidate representing the Republican Party.



District 5 (Sheridan, Arkwright, Villenova, East Pomfret and Cherry Creek) – Democratic candidates for county legislator are Amy L. Farnham and Susan L. Baldwin

District 7 – Working Families Party incumbent Thomas S. DeJoe is running for county legislator for Northeast Chautauqua, Stockton and Portland towns including the villages of Cassadaga and Brocton. There is an opportunity for a write-in candidate to ballot.

District 16 (towns of Poland, Carroll and Kiantone) – County legislator candidates are Republican Party members Ronald A. Lemon and Tamera M. Downey.

District 18 (Mina, Sherman and most of Chautauqua including Mayville and Sherman) – Republican ballot candidates for county legislator are incumbents Frederick C. Croscut and David L. Himelein.

Erie County

Countywide primaries


Two judges’ seats are set to be filled in this year’s election for the Erie County Family Court. Four individuals in total are running in Tuesday’s primaries. Paul V. Crapsi, Mary Giallanza Carney and Deanne M. Tripi are running in the Democratic, Working Families and Independence party primaries. Joseph T. Jarzembek is running in the Democratic primary solely. The seats have a 10-year term.


Democrats will be up at bat on Tuesday for their party’s primary in the race for Erie County Sheriff. Bert D. Dunn and Richard E. Dobson, Sr. are the two individuals running for their party’s nomination. The Sheriff’s seat has a four-year term.


The Independence Party will be holding its primary for Erie County Comptroller on Tuesday. Anthony D’Orazio, Jr. is challenging Stefan I. Mychajliw, Jr., who currently holds the office after winning the special election last year to fill out a partial term. The seat has a four-year term.

Southern Erie towns


Supervisor – Republicans will be holding their primary on Tuesday for Brant Town Supervisor. Incumbent Leonard K. Pero is being challenged by Donald L. Clark for the seat, which has a four-year term.

Councilman – Two seats on the Brant Town Board are up for grabs in this year’s election and the Independence Party is set to hold a primary for the seats on Tuesday. Incumbent Jeffrey W. Gier is being challenged by Paulette R. Renaldo and Mark J. DeCarlo. Both seats have a four-year term.

Justice – Both the Republicans and the Conservatives will be holding primaries for the Brant Town Justice seat. Clark H. Borngraber and Debra A. Ritz are both running in each primary. The seat has a four-year term.


Clerk – As of Aug. 23, current Collins Town Clerk Becky Jo Summers is running in the Independence Party’s primary. There is also an opportunity for a write-in candidate to ballot. The seat has a four-year term.

Justice – Three primaries are set to be held on Tuesday for the Collins Town Justice seat. In the Democratic, Republican and Independence primaries, incumbent Norman J. Peters is being challenged by Brian D. Gernatt. The seat has a four-year term.


Superintendent of Highways – Tuesday will see incumbent Edward J. Michalski and Dominic M. Calandra face off in the Independence Party’s primary for Evans Town Highway Superintendent. The seat has a four-year term.

Contributing to this report were staff members Katie Atkins, Greg Fox and Samantha McDonnell. Send comments to