Voting 101 in Chautauqua County for the Tuesday primary election

Eligibility to vote: Any county citizen at least age 18 at the date of election who has previously registered and has a primary is eligible to vote.

Voters must have lived at their present address at least 30 days before an election, not be in jail or on parole for a felony conviction, and not claim the right to vote elsewhere.

Hours to vote?

Polls are open noon to 9 p.m.. The busiest times to avoid will be noon to 1 p.m. and in the evening during the dinner hour. In Erie County, polls will be open earlier at 6 a.m., so voters in Chautauqua County should not get confused by the Buffalo media reports.

What jurisdictions are hosting what

primary elections?

Arkwright: Democratic, Republican and Independence

Carroll: Republican

Chautauqua: Republican (Except Election District 4) and Working Families (Only Election District 4). New voting site at Mayville United Methodist Church, 81 S. Erie St., Mayville

Cherry Creek: Democratic

Gerry: Republican Kiantone: Republican

Mina: Republican Poland: Republican

Pomfret: (District 6 only) at BOCES Loguidice Center: Democratic

Portland: Working Families and Independence

Sheridan: Democratic

Sherman: Republican

Stockton: Republican, Conservative, Working Families, and Independence

Villenova: Democratic

All other jurisdictions do not have primary elections

How to determine current major party affiliation and registration?

Visit and click on “Voter Lookup” or contact the Board of Elections from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at 363-4580, 661-7580 or 753-4580.


A voter who has moved within the county and has failed to notify the Board of Elections may go to their new polling place and fill out an affidavit ballot if their jurisdiction and political party are having a primary.

Who are the candidates on the ballot?

Official ballot facsimiles are available The candidates are Democratic County Legislator District 5, Amy L. Farnham vs. Susan L. Baldwin; Republican County Legislator District 16, Ronald A. Lemon vs. Tamera M. Downey; Republican County Legislator District 18 Frederick C. Croscut vs. David L. Himelein; Republican Arkwright Town Council (Vote for any 2) Christopher C. Cannon, Clinton H. Nagel, and Lawrence J. Ball; Republican Gerry Highway Superintendent, Mark A. Risley vs. Brian T. Anderson; Republican Mina Town Clerk, Kathy A. Wolfe vs. Sherrie R. Tanner; Republican Stockton Town Justice (Vote for 1) Mark A. Cunningham, Michael H. Myers and Jeffrey A. Shevlin Jr; Conservative Stockton Town Justice, Jeffrey A. Shevlin Jr. vs. Mark A. Cunningham; Working Families County Legislator District 7. Thomas S. DeJoe has had an Opportunity to Ballot filed against his candidacy; Independence Arkwright Town Council (Vote for any 2) Clinton H. Nagel and Lawrence J. Ball have had an Opportunity to Ballot filed against their candidacy; Independence Portland Highway Superintendent, Ronald L. Delcamp vs. Charles E. Kelley Jr.; Independence Stockton Town Justice, Mark A. Cunningham vs. Jeffrey A. Shevlin Jr; Green has no county primaries

Last-minute absentee ballot


One-stop Absentee ballot application and voting is available at the Board of Elections, 7 North Erie St., Mayville from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. today. Agents for voters may also deliver absentee ballot applications to the board of elections and hand deliver the ballot to the voter. It is now too late to mail an absentee ballot application.

Ballots for viewing and election night unofficial results are available at: