Cattaraugus County DA retains Republican line

Residents in registered political parties throughout New York state headed to the polls Tuesday to cast their votes.

Cattaraugus County

District Attorney Lori Reiman will again appear on the November ballot representing the Republicans as she defeated challenger Mark Williams, 478-105, on Tuesday night.

For the Green Party District Attorney line, there was an opportunity to ballot. Jil Saint Ledger-Roty received eight write-in votes, Williams had seven votes while Barry Gann received one vote.


For supervisor, Erika M. Zollinger defeated Cheryl J. Ellis on the Republican line. Ellis received 56 votes while Zollinger had 22 votes.

For town clerk, Camilla B. Lulas won the Democratic line, receiving 15 votes against Carla S. Hartman who did not receive any votes.


For town supervisor, Dennis K. Parker was challenging incumbent Dennis C. Stopen. Stopen won with a vote of 72 to 57, according to the unofficial results.

Incumbents Richard M. Gabel and Lynn W. Varney were being challenged by Constance M. Johnson for two seats. Gabel and Varney won with 106 and 86 votes respectively. Johnson received 62 votes.

Chautauqua County


Clinton H. Nagel and Christopher C. Cannon were victorious for the Republican line for two town council seats. Nagel received 62 votes, Cannon received 61 votes, while Lawrence J. Ball received 50 votes. Two other write-in votes were also cast.

For the Independence Party primary, both Nagel and Ball received 11 votes for their two seats. Nine votes were cast to an unidentified write-in candidate.


Brian T. Anderson won the Republican line for Highway Superintendent in Gerry. He received 136 votes, while 118 voted for Mark A. Risley.


Ronald L. Delcamp won the Independence Party line for Highway Superintendent. Delcamp received 14 votes while his opponent Charles E. Kelley Jr. had nine votes.


Unofficial results showed Mark A. Cunningham easily won the Republican Party primary vote for Stockton Town Justice. Out of 150 votes, Cunningham received 111 votes, while Jeffrey A. Shevlin Jr. received 26 and Michael H. Myers received 13.

Cunningham also defeated Shevlin for the Conservative line. Twelve votes were cast for Cunningham, while Shevlin received 5 votes.

For the Independence Line, the race is too close to call. Cunningham currently leads Shevlin 7 votes to 6, with one absentee ballot cast.

The County Board of Elections is scheduled to open absentee ballots Tuesday.

Erie County

Family Court Judge – With two judges’ seats set to be filled in this year’s election, Democrats are projected to nominate Mary Giallanza Carney with 34 percent (21,842 votes) of the unofficial vote and Deanne M. Tripi with 32 percent (20,757 votes), with 99 percent of precincts reporting. Paul V. Crapsi came in third with 25 percent (15,976 votes) and Joseph T. Jarzembek placed fourth with 9 percent (6,111 votes).

The Working Families Party is also projected to nominate Tripi with 47 percent (124 votes) of the unofficial vote and Carney with 36 percent, with 99 percent of precincts reporting. Crapsi came in third with 17 percent.

The Independence Party is also projected to nominate Tripi with 38 percent of the unofficial vote and Carney with 35 percent, with 99 percent of precincts reporting. Crapsi came in third with 27 percent.

Sheriff – In a neck-and-neck Democratic Party primary for the Erie County Sheriff’s seat, with 99 percent of precincts reporting, Richard E. Dobson, Sr. was leading the race with 18,121 votes, or 51 percent, according to unofficial election results. Bert D. Dunn received 17,429 votes, or 49 percent, close behind Dobson.

Comptroller – The Independence Party held its primary for Erie County Comptroller on Tuesday and unofficial election results show Stefan I. Mychajliw, Jr. will receive the party nomination with 65 percent, with 99 percent of precincts reporting. Anthony D’Orazio, Jr. received 35 percent, of the total unofficial vote. Mychajliw currently holds the comptroller’s seat after after winning a special election to fill out a partial term.


Supervisor – Republicans held their primary on Tuesday for Brant Town Supervisor. Unofficial election results project incumbent Leonard K. Pero will receive the party nod with 168 votes, or 68 percent of the vote. Donald L. Clark received 78 votes, or 32 percent of the vote.

Councilman – Two seats on the Brant Town Board are up for grabs in this year’s election. Unofficial election results show Jeffrey W. Gier with nine votes, Mark J. DeCarlo with eight votes and Paulette R. Renaldo with six votes.

Justice – Republicans and Conservatives held their primaries for the Brant Town Justice seat on Tuesday and Clark H. Borngraber won in both parties’ unofficial election results. Borngraber received 169 votes in the Republican primary and received 23 votes in the Conservative primary. Debra A. Ritz received 76 votes, in the Republican primary and 9 votes in the Conservative primary.


Clerk – Incumbent Becky Jo Summers received one vote for the Independence Party nomination for Collins Town Clerk. There was an opportunity for a write-in candidate to ballot leading up to the primary.

Justice – The Democratic, Republican and Independence parties held their primaries on Tuesday for the Collins Town Justice seat. It appears Norman J. Peters won the Democratic and Republican lines. For the Democratic line, Peters received 44 votes while Brian D. Gernatt received 38 votes. On the Republican line, Peters received 47 votes while Gernatt received 29 votes. For the Independence Party line, Gernatt received two votes while Peters received one vote.


Superintendent of Highways – For the Independence Party line incumbent Edward J. Michalski appears to have won. He received 72 votes while Dominic M. Calandra received 47 votes.