County voters will see five new poll sites, but 25 fewer election districts

MAYVILLE – The Chautauqua County Board of Elections this year reduced the total number of county election districts from 124 to 99 in a cost cutting move and has been working to reduce voter confusion for this Tuesday’s General Election.

New poll sites have also been established at Gloria Dei Lutheran Church, Lakewood; United Metho-dist Church, Mayville; Community Center, Celo-ron; Girl Scout of WNY Building, Ellicott; and Gate-way Train Station, James-town.

Election Commissioners Brian C. Abram and Norman P. Green urge all voters to visit to look up personal voter information that includes registration status and where to vote. While at the website, voters will also be able to view the exact ballot they will be given on Tuesday at their poll site. Voters are also welcome to contact the board of elections with questions at 753-4580, Monday through Friday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Saturday 9 a.m. to noon. The office will also be open on Election Day from 5 a.m. to 11 p.m.

Twenty of the county’s 27 towns vote at a single poll site. These include: Arkwright, town hall; Carroll, Frewsburg Fire Station No. 2 (blue building); Charlotte, Sinclairville Fire Hall; Chautauqua, Mayville United Methodist Church; Cherry Creek, town hall; Clymer, Abbe Reformed Church; French Creek, Peek ‘n Peak; Gerry, Gerry Fire Hall; Ellington, town hall; Harmony, Panama Methodist Church; Kiantone, town hall community building; Mina, community center; North Harmony, Ashville Fire Hall; Poland, Kennedy Volunteer Fire Hall; Portland, town hall; Ripley, Ripley Central School; Sheridan, town community center; Sherman, First Baptist Church; Villenova, town hall; and Westfield, Eason Hall. Of these towns, Chautauqua has a new poll site and Ripley will be voting at the opposite side of the Ripley Central School.

Area remaining towns:

Dunkirk Town: Voters, due to the geographical split in the town, vote at the East Town of Dunkirk Fire Hall for election district 1 and at the town hall for election district 2 voters in the west.

Stockton: Votes at Stockton Fire Hall for election district 1 (west of Stockton Hill) and at Cassadaga Community Building for election district 2 (east of Stockton Hill).

Hanover: Silver Creek village voters will continue to vote at the Mt. Carmel Auditorium. Irving area voters in Hanover will continue to vote at the Goodell Building. Forestville area voters in Hanover will continue to vote at the Forestville Municipal Building. Voters in the center of Hanover will be voting at Silver Creek Central School.

Pomfret: Fredonia village voters will continue to vote at the Wheelock School. Voters southeast of the village in the town proper will continue to vote at BOCES Loguidice Center and voters northwest of the village will continue to cast ballots at Harvest Chapel Free Methodist Church.

Dunkirk City: With a very small exception in the Fourth Ward, all voters will continue to vote at the same six poll locations as in the recent past. Only voters north of the railroad tracks at grade crossings in the Fourth Ward will see a relocation of voting in the city of Dunkirk to the Joseph J. Steger Apartments. All poll sites remained the same in the city, which include Joseph J. Steger Apart-ments, St. Hyacinths Church, SUNY Fredonia Technology Incubator, St. John’s Church, Dunkirk First Baptist Church and St. Hedwig’s Social Center.

All voters in Chautauqua County received individual mail check cards from the board of election in August or at the time of voter registration that outlined where every voter votes. The board also did a second mailing to any voter with a new poll site. There will be greeter workers at every poll site with hand-held computers to allow for instant look-up of all voter information.