C-SPAN Education Foundation names Jackson Center Education Director as 2013 Senior Teacher Fellow

The C-SPAN Education Foundation has named Joe Karb, Director of Teacher Initiatives at the Robert H. Jackson Center in Jamestown, as a 2013 C-SPAN Senior Teacher Fellow. Karb is a social studies teacher at Springville-Griffith Institute Middle School.

C-SPAN’s Senior Teacher Fellowship program is available to teachers who have previously been selected as a C-SPAN Teacher Fellow. C-SPAN Senior Fellows are expert social studies teachers who are familiar with using C-SPAN’s programs and resources to create innovative teaching materials.

Senior Fellows collaborate with C-SPAN Classroom staff during this semester-long program to develop resources for educators who seek to incorporate C-SPAN programming and websites into their classrooms. C-SPAN Classroom is a free membership service that provides teachers with free resources to enhance their lessons. C-SPAN Classroom engages teachers and students in grades 6 through 12 in a variety of educational programs as part of the Network’s overall coverage of public affairs.

Karb, together with colleague Andrew Beiter, Director of Youth Education, developed a Youth Education Initiative for the Center in 2011. Some of the program’s major accomplishments to date include:

Creation of the Robert H. Jackson Center Award for Teaching Justice for educators who have made “a significant effort to teach the concept of justice in creative, inspiring ways, which includes teaching about civil liberties, human rights, international justice, the Holocaust, genocide studies, and local issues of justice.” Now in its second year, the Center is sponsoring a National Award, in addition to its Western New York educator award. The local winner for 2013 was Walter Robertson, of Dunkirk, a social studies teacher at Dunkirk High School. Sarah Segal, a social studies teacher from Hood River, Ore., will be presented with the national award at the annual conference for the National Council for the Social Studies on Nov. 22.

Implementation of the RHJC Teacher Fellowship Program during the summer of 2013. The Teacher Fellowship Program allowed the Center to draw on the talents of four highly qualified Western New York educators to augment its teacher resource library with interdisciplinary lesson plans and classroom materials that focus on multiple themes drawn from the life and work of Justice Jackson. RHJC Fellows for 2013 are: Junie Eimiller, Southwestern High School; James Gang, Hamburg High School; Lynn Miller Kutschke, Pine Valley High School; and Dr. Timothy Redmond, Williamsville East High School.