Chautauqua County Farm Bureau annual meeting held

Special to the OBSERVER

FALCONER – The Falcon’s Nest in Falconer provided the site for the 2013 Chautauqua County Farm Bureau annual meeting. This annual meeting of members was held in conjunction with the county Soil and Water Conservation District’s annual gathering on Oct. 24.

Evan Schiedel, grape and vegetable grower from Ripley, gave an entertaining slide presentation of his trip with the LEAD Program to the country of Turkey this past summer. Largely an agricultural tour, the presentation was heavily documented with farm photos and pictures of other-worldly commodities. But there were plenty of photos of historic and cultural sites mixed in to paint a sweeping picture of life in a far-away place. Evan is also a director of the county Farm Bureau.

Dewittville dairy farmer Dick Kimball was selected to lead the organization for the coming year. Karen Barie, current vice president, was re-elected to that office. Joanna Nocero of Sinclairville, Erin Urban of Mayville, Glenn Laurie of Westfield and Brian Carlson of Kennedy were each added to the board as new directors. Evan Schiedel will continue chairing the Young Farmer committee and Heather Woodis of Dewittville will be staying on as chairwoman of the Promotion and Education committee.

Resolutions concerning the county 4-H program, equine tooth floating by non-veterinarians and definition of the parameters of the Clean Water Act were adopted by the members attending this meeting. Resolutions of a state or federal nature will be forwarded to New York Farm Bureau for consideration by the delegates of the state annual meeting December 3-5 in Syracuse.

Two award presentations were made by the county Soil and Water Conservation District at this meeting. Conservation Farmer of the Year was presented to Country-Ayre Farms and the Kimball and Woodis families for the conservation practices adopted on their farm. Conservation Essay of the Year, which was based on participation in the county’s Conservation Field Days, was presented to Sierra Owls of Jamestown.