Dunkirk Yacht Club celebrates 75 years

The Dunkirk Yacht Club, founded in 1938, observed its 75th anniversary and the close of the 2013 season at its recent fall banquet held at the Fireside Manor. New officers for the 2014 season were installed

Lifetime member Chet Bates opened the events with the benediction. Outgoing Commodore Cody Britton thanked everyone for support throughout the year.

A 75th diamond jubilee logo commemorated this year, and was displayed on signs, the newsletter, member roster, items for sale and on the cake at the special 75th birthday party held this summer.

Britton recognized outgoing newsletter editor Sylvia Bailey for her many years of work keeping the club informed and connected. He presented her with a gift in appreciation of her efforts.

He presented Sue Baldwin with a bouquet of roses for all the help she had given him in his year as commodore. He then presented his successor Jim Rizzo with the commodore’s flag of office and gavel.

The remaining officers for the 2014 season were introduced and presented with their flags Officers are: Vice Commodore Paul Wallenhorst, Rear Commodore Bob Beardsley, Treasurer Robyn Beardsley, Secretary Rachel Foley and Past Commodore, Cody Britton.

The Board of Directors was also introduced. The board includes: Larry DeJonghe (Facilities), Donald Ellington (House), Kathy Fox, (Race & Recreation), Scott Mackay, (Education), Kathy Peters, (Social), and Bill Wright, (Membership). Other positions named include Ed Will (Dockmaster), Nancy Stef-fan (Newsletter) and Larry VanDeusen (Webmaster).

Race & Recreation chairman Larry VanDeusen presented this year’s Sailing Trophy to Carl Bjurlin. The “T”-Cup was presented by Robyn Beardsley, last year’s recipient, to Larry Van Deusen for his constant work to promote racing as well as maintaining the DYC website. The “Sloppy Sailor Award,” announced by last year’s recipient Ken Kuwik, went to Lou Deering for special talent in sailboat launching, although there were many other deserving candidates.

The Sailing Program in partnership with JCC North, was again a success, due to the extraordinary efforts of Henry and Julie Danielson, and the club is looking forward to next season.

Eight new members joined the club this season: Jay Stoltenberg, Bill McClintic, Tim Schrantz, Pete Fote, Greg Kowal, Dennis Wolfe, Joe Gugino and Jon Muntz. Life Member Gerhard Kurpiela, who passed away this year, was remembered.

Outgoing Commodore Britton thanked those members who had served on the board and on committees Vice Commodore Jim Rizzo, Rear Commodore Paul Wallenhorst, Past Com-modore Bill Wright, Treas-urer Robyn Bearsdley, Secretary Rachel Foley, and committee chairmen: Don Ellington (House), Scott MacKay (Education), Kathy Peters (Social), Rich Cieslewicz (Facilities), Nancy Steffan (Member-ship), Larry Van Deusen (Race and Recreation), Ed Will (Dockmaster) and Sylvia Bailey (Newsletter) and presented them with gifts of appreciation.

The committee for dinner arrangements, reservations, and decorations for the evening included Brett and Jenn Christy, Kathy Peters and Chris Christy.

Musical entertainment was provided by the band “Counterfeit.”