The best of Class C?South

Fredonia running back Matt McCarthy accumulated 30 touchdowns and 1,590 yards rushing this past football season.

He helped guide the Hillbillies to the Section 6 Class C championship game for a second straight season.

With the season over with, McCarthy was selected as the 2013 Class C South Player of the Year.

Fredonia quarterback Weston Ley joined McCarthy on the Offensive First Team as did wide receiver Dylan Meyer and offensive lineman Steve Mignoli. Gowanda’s Brennan Geiger was honored with the League Sportsmanship award and was joined on the First Team by offensive lineman teammate Zach Stevens.

Also making the first team was Silver Creek offensive lineman Dylan Robinson.

Fredonia defensive lineman Jake Rinus, linebacker Tony Swierk and punter Nick Johnston were named to the Defensive First Team, as was Gowanda defensive lineman Nate Myers.

Silver Creek defensive lineman Mike Priest and linebacker Sherman Williams also made the Defensive First Team.

The Offensive Second Team is headed by Fredonia running back John Piper, wide receiver Cameron Voss and offensive lineman Jin Kim.

Gowanda wide receiver Chase Williams and offensive lineman Kenny Brant were named to the Second Team, as was Silver Creek wide receiver Jake Lewis.

On the defensive side of the ball, Fredonia defensive lineman Brett Seekings, linebackers Dakota Gardner and Cody Smith, and defensive back Tyler DiRusso were named to the Second Team.

Silver Creek defensive lineman Tim Manning and Gowanda lineman Chris Hammond were both named to the Second Team.

Meanwhile, Fredonia’s Nick Formanowicz, Nick Gloff and Anhel Epps were named Honorable Mention.

Honorable Mention selection for Silver Creek was Nate Jones and Gowanda’s Devon Clark was also named to the team.