Mayors up for election in Cherry Creek, Forestville, Mayville and Panama next year

MAYVILLE – The Chautauqua County Board of Elections today announced that elections will be held in 11 of the 15 county villages in 2014.

Cassadaga, Falconer, Fredonia and Lakewood have no scheduled contests for 2014. Celoron and Silver Creek will see elections held in concert with the Nov. 4, General Elections. Village elections will be conducted on March 18, in Bemus Point, two trustees; Brocton, one trustee vacancy; Cherry Creek, mayor and two trustees; Forestville, mayor and two trustees; Mayville, mayor and two trustees; Panama, mayor and one trustee; Sherman, two trustees; Silver Creek, two trustees; Sinclairville, three trustees (one vacancy and two expiring terms); and Westfield, two trustees.

The Board of Elections acts the chief election officers for all county villages except Cassadaga and Sinclairville. Village elections held in March reimburse the county for election expenses and November elections are held at no charge back cost to village taxpayers. Except for Cassadaga and Sinclairville, all filings and absentee ballot applications are received at the Board of Elections, 7 N. Erie St., Mayville NY 14757.

The first day to circulate an independent party petition is Dec. 31, for any county March village election. Major political parties are to caucus from Jan. 21 to 28.

Additional information is available at or by calling the Board of Elections at 753-5480.