Wrestling in Ripley

RIPLEY – Behind two wrestlers winning titles, host Westfield-Ripley-Chautauqua Lake took its own Ripley Invitational on Saturday night.

Mark Ecklund (126 pounds), Tyler Furlow (195) and Nick Hudson (132) earned championships as WRCL captured the 15-team field title with 231 points followed by Erie Strong Vincent with 156 and Randolph with 147.

Youngsville was fourth with 141 points, Dunkirk sixth with 107, Fredonia seventh with 92.50, Cassadaga Valley eighth with 84, Southwestern 11th with 73.50 and Cattaraugus-Little Valley/Pine Valley 14th with 20.

Ecklund took the 126-pound title for WRCL with a 14-5 major decision over Chester Chewkai of Youngsville. He won three matches in the tourney.

Furlow emerged with the 195-pound crown for WRCL by pinning Austin Spear of Youngsville in 4:21 for his third win without a defeat.

Hudson, who picked up his 100th career win recently, defeated Chandler Finn of Youngsville by pin in 2:48.

WRCL also took three third-place finishes and seven fourths en route to the crown.

Winning in the consolation finals for WRCL were Kale Gilbert (138), Damian Raynor (145) and Noah Dorman (113).

Gilbert defeated teammate Roger Williams, 6-4, Raynor won by forfeit over Erie Strong Vincents’ Gary Williams and Dorman pinned Randolph’s Dylan Brown in 3:27.

Randolph had three champions in Dakota Parkhurst, Chris Doubek and Jeff Andrews with each compiling 3-0 records.

Parkhurst won over 113-pounder Tammer Perry of Edgemont, Ohio, 9-1, Doubek won the 160-pound title over Steven Iverson of Sweet Home, 5-1, and Andrews took the 220-pound crown over Alex Jones of Dunkirk with a pin in 1:19.

Dakota Gardner of Fredonia won the 138-pound bout by defeating John Ciotti, 6-1, for his third win of the event. Also for Fredonia, Jovany Ruiz took second at 120 after losing by pin to Erie Strong Vincent’s in 3:27.

Eben Torres of Cassadaga Valley emerged with the 182-pound title by prevailing against Billy Fleming of Cattaraugus-Little Valley/Pine Valley, 5-2. He wound up 3-0.

Nick Jones of Dunkirk defeated Tyson Gugino of Cassadaga Valley in overtime to win the 285-pound match to go to 3-0.

Also for Dunkirk, Billy Seiders (120) defeated Randolph’s Tristan Holdridge, 9-5, in the consolation finals while Troy Smith-Petrella upended Iroquois’ Mike Connley, 8-3, at 126.