Jamestown Squadron of Civil Air Patrol announces promotions and awards

The Jamestown Composite Squadron of the Civil Air Patrol announced recent promotions and awards.

Senior member and squadron commander Ellen Maternowski was promoted to Lt. Colonel. She is also now the Deputy Commander for the Western New York Group, Commander for the Jamestown Squadron, NY 402, and has been recognized for her exemplary service to the Civil Air Patrol. Senior member 2nd Lt. Nathan Wright was awarded the Chuck Yeager Aerospace Education Achievement Award.

Cadets in the squadron have achieved various milestones and awards of their own. Cadet 2nd Lt. Tyler DeJoe was recently named cadet of the year for WNY Group.

Other cadets received promotions earned through a series of leadership, aerospace, physical fitness and drill tests in addition to other requirements. Aaron Sullivan was promoted to Airman, Matthew Bennink to Airman 1st Class, Nicholas Lamer to Staff Sergeant, Anne-Marie Mercer to Tech. Sergeant, Cooper Stuart to Master Sergeant and Hosanna Snell to Master Sergeant. Brandon Powell and Clayton Hanson were both presented the Amelia Earhart Award and promotions to Cadet Captain. The Earhart Award is the third of five awards in the cadet program. The awards progress in difficulty.

Squadron cadets are training and preparing for this summer’s activities which include the NYS Wing Encampment, Blue Beret in Wisconsin, Space Camp in Alabama, Emergency Services Academy in Indiana and numerous practice missions and training activities.

Those interested in joining the Civil Air Patrol or who would like to visit squadron meetings may contact Colonel Ellen Maternowski at 397-3864 or Captain Todd Hanson at 499-5179 or visit the group’s website at www.jamestowncap.org