Best in the West II

Chautauqua Lake’s Jenna Einink, a junior, was named the CCAA West II girls basketball Most Valuable Player recently while her head coach, Eric Schuster was named Coach of the Year.

Einink averaged a team-high 20 points and 12 rebounds per game this season in helping Chautauqua Lake reach its first New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class C semifinals. The Lady Thunderbirds will take on Section 1’s Haldane at 12:30 p.m., at Hudson Valley Community College, in Troy.

On the First Team were fellow Lady Thunderbird teammates Ashton Albanesius (junior) and Courtney Hewes (junior). Sherman’s Bridget Yaw (sophomore) and Talia Coccarelli (junior), Panama’s Brittany Lenart (junior) and Clymer’s Kayla Gilkinson (senior) rounded out the First Team.

On the Second Team were Clymer’s Breanna Summers (senior) and Carly McAfoose (junior), Chautauqua Lake’s Tara Hunt (senior), Brocton’s Jessica Putcher (senior) and Panama’s Emille Sperry (sophomore).

Honorable mention selections were as follows:

Brocton: Brooke Kuschel (senior), Jessica Merle (junior) and Kenya Stanton (junior).

Cassadaga Valley: Preslie Johnson (senior) and Ashley Repine (sophomore).

Chautauqua Lake: Ashley Moulton (senior).

Clymer: M.J. Trisket (senior) and Danielle Wade (senior).

Panama: Taylor Bowen (sophomore), Kelsey Johnson (senior) and Brianna Marsh (senior).

Sherman: Cadi Hannold (senior), Shenley Luden (sophomore) and Roxanne Toy (sophomore).

Westfield: Rachel Allen (senior), Brenna Culbreth (sophomore) and Carson Hauser (junior).

The Team Sportsmanship Award went to Panama while Individual Sportsmanship Awards went to Kuschel (Brocton), Brittany Johnston (CVCS), Hewes (CLCS), Trisket (Clymer), Sperry (Panama), Yaw (Sherman) and Emily LaPorte (Westfield). The league-wide Individual Sportsmanship Award went to Lenart (Panama).