Panthers receive end-of-year awards

The Westfield-Ripley-Chautauqua Lake Panther wrestling team held its annual awards banquet recently at Chautauqua Lake Central School. Honored were members of the Division 2 All-Star team. They are, Nick Hudson (first team), Mark Ecklund (first team), Kale Gilbert (first team), Bryce Rowe (second team), Dominique Rammelt (second team), Tyler Furlow (second team), Alex Swan (second team), Garrett Fransen (honorable mention), Derek Ecklund (honorable mention), Trent Howard (honorable mention), Damian Raynor (honorable mention), Justin Gross (honorable mention) and DJ Hamrick (honorable mention).

The Most Outstanding Wrestler was Hudson, who finished the year with 35 wins and 20 pins along with a second-place finish at the Section 6 state qualifier. He has recorded 122 wins in his career, going into his senior season next year. The Coaches Award went to Furlow. He finished his career with 83 wins with 31 of those coming this season.

The Most Improved Award went to Justin Gross, who showed great improvement in his senior year with his first trip to the state qualifier and 20 win on the season.

The Carl “Corky” Karsh Extra Effort Award went to Rammelt, who did not miss a practice this year. He is also seen putting his time in at summer wrestling clubs, camps and in the weight room.

The Golden Eagle Award was given to wrestlers with 25 or more wins on the season. The winners were Nick Hudson 35, Tyler Furlow 31, Kale Gilbert 29, Dominique Rammelt 28, Mark Ecklund 28 and Bryce Rowe 25.

Academic awards were given to the wrestlers who were on the Honor or Merit role throughout the season. This year’s winners were Bryce Rowe, Roger Williams, Mike Boll, Tyler Furlow, Austin Bourgeois and Bret Babcock.

Also receiving the Sportsmanship Awards were Bret Babcock and Dylan Gross.