14th annual Workers’ Memorial Day Saturday

FREWSBURG – The Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee will be holding its 14th Annual Workers’ Memorial Day on Saturday, May 3 at 11 a.m. at the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Site at Erlandson Overview Park on Oak Hill Road in Frewsburg.

Workers’ Memorial Day is a day of remembering all of the men and women from Chautauqua County who have been killed on the job, in the line of duty, or died from job related causes. This year’s ceremony will recognize 139 individuals who have passed away since 1980, which includes the addition of James Hall and Michael Travis, two individuals who lost their lives in farming accidents in 2013.

The event is open to the public and refreshments will be served. Scheduled speakers include Richard E. Lipsitz Jr., President of the Western New York Labor Council; Catharine Young, New York State Senator; and Jacqueline Chiarot, Regional Director for U.S. Congressman Tom Reed.

The Chautauqua County Workers’ memorial Site is made possible by the cooperation of Chautauqua County Government, the Chautauqua County Parks Commission, local labor organizations, and by donations from supporters.

“I encourage residents to join us on May 3 as we remember our fellow workers and loved ones who have lost their lives while working,” said Chautauqua County Executive Vince Horrigan. “It is by honoring them and their memory that we are constantly reminded about the need to create and promote safe work environments for all employees.”

Members of the Chautauqua County Workers’ Memorial Committee are Co-Chairman Vince Horrigan, County Executive; Co-Chairman Jack Rudy, President of the Jamestown Central Labor Council; Co-Chairman Doug Stock, President of Dunkirk Central Labor Council; Secretary and Treasurer Robert Dando Jr., National Conference of Firemen and Oilers SEIU 32BJ; Paul Fardink, Friend of Labor Management; Andrea Figueroa, Vice President of New York State United Teachers-Jamestown Teachers Association; Hank Hoisington, Vice President of Dunkirk Central Labor Council; James Kurtz, Civil Service Employees Association (CSEA) Local #903/3; Dave Painter, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW) Local #106; William Pienta, Director of United Steelworkers District #4; William Servis, Pipefitter and Sprinkler Local #699; Steve Skidmore, CSEA Local #807/6300; George Spitale, American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees Local #418; James Smith, CSEA Local #903/3; and Dave Wilkinson, IBEW Local #106.

For more information about the event, please contact the County Executive’s Office at 753-4211.