High School golf’s finest

The Fredonia boys golf team had quite the season.

Consider this:

  • The Hillbillies clinched the CCAA Division 1 title for the first time since 2007 with a 14-1 overall record and a 9-1 league record.
  • Two players on the team were selected First-Team All Stars and another two players were selected to the Second-Team.
  • The trio of Joe Conti, Nick Pagano and Jake Lilly won the 3-man tournament Thursday at Chautauqua Golf Course.

But the greatest honor came Thursday afternoon after the 3-man tournament. During the awards banquet, golfers from every school voted on the Team Sportsmanship Award.

Tied for the award were Falconer and Fredonia.

“It felt really good,” Fredonia golf coach Ross Conti said. “You usually don’t see sportsmanship awards go to champions. It speaks really well of our kids and the fact all kids enjoy playing with this team. I’m just as proud of that aspect as I am the fact they did so well on the course.

“Golf courses were playing tough this year,” Conti noted, speaking of the rain-filled spring. “We couldn’t even go outside and practice until our first match. For them to shoot the scores they did all season was a tremendous job by them.”

At the 3-man, Pagano led Fredonia’s threesome with a 77 and Conti shot a 78 while Lilly finished with an 88 as the team finished with a 243 for first place.

Second place went to Olean as Wil Bathurst earned medalist honors with a 76. Noah Carlson shot an 89 and Noah Patrick finished with a 90 for a team total of 255.

Jamestown finished third place with a 256. Dylan Glatz led the way with an 80 while Greg Cross finished with an 85 and Max Eimiller with a 91.

Fourth place went to Southwestern as it finished with a 269. Taylor West charted an 84 and Jared Yartz had an 85. Evan Rogers charted a 100.

The Dunkirk Marauders took fifth place with a 300. Ryan Thompson led the Marauders with a 98 followed by Bobby Kokocinski’s 99 and Lucas Mets’ 103.

Falconer finished sixth, led by Sean Kilmartin’s 99. LJ Spangenburg had a 103 and Nate Burnett had a 113.

Following are the All-star teams. Bathurst and Conti shared the league scoring crown with a 39 average.