Pine Valley’s Nelson, Raiport share MVP honors

OBSERVER Staff Report

Pine Valley seniors Winfred Nelson and Thomas Raiport were voted CCAA East II baseball co-MVP’s recently while teammates Jacob Wilcox and Talon Snyder joined them on the First Team.

Also on the First Team were North Collins’ freshman Harley Mehnert and junior David Lynch, as well as Ellicottville’s Phalla Musall (junior), Robert Sawicki (sophomore) and Tom Easton (sophomore). Rounding out the First Team were Franklinville junior Bryce Blecha and Cattaraugus-Little Valley senior Justin Forster.

On the Second Team were Pine Valley’s Dylan Granger (junior), Alex Kelly (junior), North Collins’ Austin Winter (junior), Joey English (junior) and David Fera (senior). Also on the Second Team were Ellicottville’s Cameron Wilson (senior) and Dylan Paprocki (senior), Franklinville eighth grader Brock Blecha, Cattaraugus-Little Valley sophomore Kyle O’Donnell and West Valley junior Austin Wierzba.

Honorable mention went to Jaren Johnston (Pine Valley, senior), Shayne Matteson (Pine Valley, senior), Elijah Hall (Pine Valley, sophomore), Dylan Winter (North Collins, freshman), Jake Jasinski (North Collins, sophomore), Pete Hutchinson (Ellicottville, freshman), Alex Fisher (Ellicottville, sophomore), Matt Hanft (Cattaraugus-Little Valley, sophomore), Ethan Lawrence (Franklinville, junior), Jared Ras (West Valley, junior) and Emil Erlandson (West Valley, junior)

Coach of the Year went to Pine Valley’s Chris Buczek while the Team Sportsmanship Award went to Ellicottville and North Collins.