Chautauqua Lake wins High School Bowl tournament

JAMESTOWN – Chautauqua Lake Central School won the 53rd annual High School Bowl tournament, defeating Fillmore Central School 75-69 in the championship match recently.

The Chautauqua Lake team finished the year with a record of six wins and no losses. Both Chautauqua Lake and Fillmore will compete in the National Academic Championship in Washington, DC at the end of May.

The Jamestown Community College Alumni Association will present a scholarship of $1,000 a year for two years at JCC to one student at Chautauqua Lake, and the team will receive $250 in travel expenses for the national tournament from Delta Kappa Gamma, the International Honor Society of Women Educators. The Chautauqua Region Community Foundation will award a $500 scholarship to Fillmore as the runner-up school.

The Chautauqua Lake team in the final match included Molly Hindman, captain, Mariana Mathewson, Emilie Christie and Alex Swan. The team was coached by Mary Jantzi and Kim Sweet.

Players for Fillmore included Nathaniel LaCelle Peterson, captain, Michael McDonald, Hannah Hijleh and Mason Kelley. Deb Woltag is the coach of the Fillmore team.

Molly Hindman of Chautauqua Lake and Nathaniel LaCelle Peterson of Fillmore were named Players of the Match.

High School Bowl is recorded at JCC’s Jamestown Campus and produced by the Media One Group of radio stations for broadcast on WJTN-AM, and SE-93 (WWSE-FM). The broadcasts are sponsored by the JCC Alumni Association, SKF Aeroengine North America, Jamestown Mattress, Honest John’s Pizza and Wings, Pepsi, the Chautauqua Region Community Foundation, and Delta Kappa Gamma, the International Honor Society of Women Educators.

High School Bowl is the longest-running academic competition of its type in the United States and this year featured 22 schools from southwestern New York and northwestern Pennsylvania. Chautauqua Lake and its predecessor schools have participated in High School Bowl for over 40 years. Fillmore participated in the competition for the first time this year.

The questions for High School Bowl are asked by Jane Winter.