Maple Grove wins 3-man tournament

FORESTVILLE – Tri-County Country Club hosted the CCAA Division 2 West 3-man high school golf event Thursday, as the three best golfers from each team tried their hand at one of the tougher courses in Northern Chautauqua County.

Maple Grove’s Andrew Farnham took home the medalist plaque with a 77. The Red Dragons won the tournament with a team total of 246.

“I think it’s outstanding,” Tri County golf pro Dan Rettig said of Farnham’s 77. “There are times when I struggle to break 77 out here. For a high school golfer, a lot of times it’s someone who hasn’t played this course so much. For them to read putts and deal with the quickness of the greens, it’s a tremendous accomplishment.”

Along with Farnham’s 77, Wil Lockwood shot an 83 and Bryce Moyer had an 86.

Chautauqua Lake-Westfield came in second place with a 248, led by Cody Latimer’s 81. Nick Hudson had an 83 and Ethan Nelson charted an 84.

Cassadaga Valley finished third with a 263 as Anthony Miller and David Meadows each shot an 87. Jarrett Blizzard finished with an 89.

Forestville and Sherman each shot a 279.

Troy Torsell led the Hornets with an 81 while Lewis Markham had a 92. Nick Ranft recorded a 106.

For the Wildcats, Albert Bensink had an 86 while Cole Munson had a 96 and Steve Walczak charted a 97.

Silver Creek shot a 315 led by Connor Daniels’ 97. Michael McCarthy cracked a 107 and Joe Donovan had a 111.

Frewsburg rounded out the tournament with a 351 behind Dane Johnson’s 113. Nick Mole and Anthony Mole each had a 119.

“I know that the course was playing fast today,” Rettig said. “The greens were very, very fast and firm, which is the way we like them here. It’s a staple of this area. Any time the greens are lightning quick, you can have a really good golfer put up a really poor score. We had some surprise scores today. I am proud of the kids that came out and battled.”

After golfing was completed, the All-stars were selected. Lockwood was chosen as the MVP while his coach, Pete Pannes was named Coach of the Year. Silver Creek received the Team Sportsmanship award.

First Team

Wil Lockwood Maple Grove

Cody Latimer Chautauqua Lake-Westfield

Andrew Farnham Maple Grove

Anthony Miller Cassadaga Valley

Nick Hudson Chautauqua Lake-Westfield

Jarrett Blizzard Cassadaga Valley

Second Team

Ethan Nelson Chautauqua Lake-Westfield

Dillan LaBarbera Maple Grove

Bryce Moyer Maple Grove

David Meadows Cassadaga Valley

Titus Miller Cassadaga Valley

Cole Matum Chautauqua Lake-Westfield

Honorable Mention

Nick Stern Cassadaga Valley

Michael Lancaster Cassadaga Valley

Joey Parker Chautauqua Lake-Westfield

Lewis Markham Forestville

Troy Torsell Forestville

Nick Ranft Forestville

Nick Mole Frewsburg

Dane Johnson Frewsburg

Anthony Mole Frewsburg

Cole Munson Sherman

Steve Walczak Sherman

Albert Bensink Sherman

Michael McCarthy Silver Creek

Joe Donovan Silver Creek

Dana Spruce Silver Creek