AAUW presents four scholarships, recognizes members

The Dunkirk-Fredonia Branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) recently presented four scholarships – two to Empire State students and two to SUNY Fredonia students. Each will receive a $500 scholarship.

Bradford Nelson, the Interim Unit Coordinator for the Fredonia Unit of Empire College, presented the Empire scholarships on behalf of AAUW to Tara Wisecarver, a community and human resources major and Judy Vara who is majoring in community and human services and health care administration.

Cherise Gunnell, a childhood education major, and Courtney Loiacono, an English and women and gender studies double major, were the SUNY Fredonia recipients.

At the meeting, Loiacono did a presentation about Fredonia’s Women’s Student Union (WSU) of which she is president. This feminist group has worked with both the League of Women Voters and AAUW this last year. The group hopes to continue to build those relationships.

Shirley Erbsmehl received a longevity membership award for 35 years of membership. Carolyn Briggs, Pam Westman and Susan Pepe each received an award for 15 years of membership.

AAUW membership is open to college students as well as anyone holding an associate’s or higher degree. AAUW advocates for equity and education through research, philanthropy and measurable change in critical areas impacting the lives of women and girls. If interested in learning more about AAUW, membership, or attending a meeting, call Peggy Tiffany at 673-1838.