Gowanda board welcomes new superintendent, principal

GOWANDA – Gowanda is welcoming new faces to the district.

The Gowanda Board of Education formally welcomed the district’s new superintendent, and introduced the new elementary principal. With the retirement of Superintendent Charles Rinaldi, incoming Superintendent James Klubek attended his first Board of Education meeting as superintendent recently.

Klubek, who leaves the role of principal at Silver Creek High School, told the board of education how his first day in his new role went. Klubek said since the superintendent’s office is being remodeled, he took the opportunity to walk through the district and talk to everyone he encountered. He said he received a warm welcome from all he had conversations with.

“Everyone seems to want what I want, to move the district forward, which is excellent,” he said. “I’m generally excited, a little nervous and a little scared.”

Klubek also introduced the new elementary principal, Carrie Dzierba. During the regular meeting, the board of education approved a probationary period for Dzierba from Aug. 18 through Aug. 18, 2017. According to Klubek, there was around 30 candidates who applied for the position currently held by Janice Stokes, who is retiring.

“She rose to the top (of the group). There is no question about it,” said Klubek, who worked with Rinaldi on the hiring process. “I’m so looking forward to working with you and making you a part of our team.”

Other changes included new leadership on the board of education.

Susan Flaherty was voted as board president while Mark Nephew was voted as vice president. Flaherty said she is “very excited about positive changes” that are occurring within the district. The district also gave oaths of office to Nephew, Mary Stratton and Peter Delpriore.

The board of education also approved to change Joelle Woodward’s title from school business administrator to director of finance and support services. The board of education also accepted the resignation of Judith Weber as school monitor in the food service department, but she will remain in the positions of bus driver and substitute school monitor. The following were approved as certified lifeguards for the 2014-2015 school year: Anthony Puntillo, Amy Cassidy, Kimberly Schon, Rodney Utley, Brian Denea and Andrea Kinney.

Comments on this article may be sent to