County government offices now open from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. year-round

MAYVILLE – The Chautauqua County Legislature recently approved the continuation of summer hours as the permanent office hours for Chautauqua County government offices. County offices will now be open Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. all year-round, with the exception of federal holidays.

In the past, county government offices would operate under summer hours and winter hours. Summer hours were from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and were in effect from the day after Memorial Day to the day before Labor Day. Winter hours were from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. and were in effect from the day after Labor Day to the day before Memorial Day.

Horrigan introduced the idea of having summer hours extended on a trial basis through October to the County Legislature earlier this month. The legislature then voted unanimously to amend and approve the 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. hours to put them into effect all year-round.

Chairman of the Legislature Jay Gould stated, “We considered the results of an employee survey where 90 percent of respondents were in favor of maintaining office hours at the county offices from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The legislature unanimously supported the resolution in response to the wishes of the employees. Now that office hours are the same all year-round, we also hope that this consistent approach will better serve the public.”

A local office with extended hours includes:

Dunkirk Mental Health and Addiction Clinic, 319 Central Ave., Second Floor, Dunkirk.

Open Monday through Thursday from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. and Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Also, in addition to the 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. schedule, each Department of Motor Vehicles Office has one long day it is open:

Dunkirk DMV, 3988 Vineyard Drive, Dunkirk.

Open late Monday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:45 p.m.